One of my favorite parts of the Christmas season is rewatching all of my favorite Christmas movies and tv shorts.  In all of these films there is something magical that always gets me into holiday spirit.  So, without any further ado, here are my favorite Christmas films.  Enjoy!!! and Happy Holidays!!

A Christmas Story

If you were born in America and have not seen this masterpiece, you need to go fix that immediately.  I’m sure there is a t.v channel showing a 24 hour marathon of it at any given moment in the final weeks of December.  This film is the essence of a true American Christmas.  I’m sure that there isn’t anything in this movie that someone can’t relate to in some form.  From receiving  homemade, ridiculous clothing from your aunt, meeting the creepy mall Santa, to having your parents hear you utter your first swear word.  A Christmas Story has also taught us many lessons on life also, such as never lick a frozen pole, always keep spare glue, and dad will always cuss a lot while trying to fix the heater.  If you only have time to watch one Christmas movie this year, make it this one.

How the Grinch Stole Christmas(the Dr. Seuss one with Boris Karloff narrating)

Now, doesn’t that ending make you feel all warm and fuzzy inside?  And, where can I get me some of those neat who-toys, I’m sure the Grinch knows where to get them, he must have worked in retail during Christmas season to develop a negative attitude towards Christmas.

National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation

A bit of family conversation upon finding the perfect family Christmas tree:

Ellen:”Don’t you think it’s a bit big?”

Clark:”It’s not big, it’s just….Full.”

Russ:”Dad, that thing won’t even fit in our yard.”

Clark:”It’s not going in our yard Russ.  It’s going in our living room.”

Clark Griswald is my favorite optimist, always looking on the bright side of life, always trying to give his family the best he can offer, and always in the Christmas spirit.  But, when everything backfires in his face, be prepared for some of the most hilarious meltdowns in movie history.

Rudolf the Red-Nosed Reindeer

There’s something about puppets and stop-motion animation that I love.  Maybe it reminds me of playing with my toys during my childhood,  I don’t know.  This film always makes me feel like a kid, filled pure magic and wonder, sitting cross-legged too close to the television contemplating if my toys walked around when I wasn’t looking.

Gremlins

I don’t care what anyone says, this is a Christmas movie.  There’s snow, Santa Claus, Christmas songs, caroling, and the best Christmas gift ever, well, if you remember to abide by the 3 rules.  Billy didn’t follow these 3 rules very well and broke 2 of them and unleashed mischievous anarchy upon the quaint town of  Kingston Falls.  This movie is great if you want something different to watch during the holidays.

Toy Commercials!!!!!

Looking back, I kinda feel sorry for my mom.  Every time one of these commercials came on during Christmas season(or whenever), I would run to her and tell her I need to go see Santa so I could ask for another awesome toy I saw on the t.v.  At least I was a mildly behaved kid for most of the year for fear of Santa not bringing me my completely awesome piece of useless plastic.

Remember not to put Mossman or Stinkor into the slime.

Who remembers the t.v. show too?

